Day #464

A new Moleskin accompanied Starbucks, beef jerky, and a few must-reads among other exciting gifts from Jack and Andrew in a care package I picked up today. The package came at a perfect time. I needed a new journal and pens and the cravings for some real coffee and the new Harry Potter book needed to stop. As if the goodies weren’t enough, I got a little emotional reading Jack’s letter. It was really nice to receive news that Jack was accepted into AmeriCorps and that he was doing well. Jack is among a few friends who I’m always rooting for, always holding my breath and waiting to hear of amazing things that will happen to them because they, of all people, deserve it. I forget sometimes how much I miss my family and friends back home. It’s a little unbelievable that I’ll be seeing them in less than a year. I’m really excited to go home next August, but there’s still so much more I want to accomplish here in my village before that day comes.

Leave a Reply

